Barcelona 27 Feb - 2 Mar 2017

8a. GSMA’s Outstanding Contribution to the Mobile Industry

The GSMA’s Outstanding Contribution to the Mobile Industry Award is the annual recognition of outstanding achievement in the mobile industry. The Award honours personal or company contributions as well as achievements that span entire organisations, over a sustained period of time or for technology advancements that have helped, and are helping to, shape the mobile sector as know it today. They all share one thing in common – to have served the global industry and engendered a continuing vitality in the evolution and advancement of mobile communications.

This discretionary award is a personal honour for the recipient who is chosen by the GSMA alone. The category is NOT Open for entry.

The 2016 award Winner will be announced at Mobile World Congress in Barcelona on Monday 27th February 2017.

Previous Winners

2002: NTTDoCoMo,Inc.
2003: Sir Christopher Gent, Vodafone Group
2004: Zhang LiGui, China Mobile
2005: The Brazilian Ministry of Communications
2006: Jorma Ollila, Nokia Corporation
2007: Mohamed Ibrahim, Chairman, Celtel
2008: Sunil Bharti Mittal, Founder, Chairman and Group CEO of Bharti Enterprises
2009: Jim Balsille & Mike Lazaridis, Co-CEOs of Research in Motion (RIM)
2010: Carl-Henric Svanberg, Former CEO of Ericsson
2011: Wang Jianzhou, Executive Chairman, China Mobile
2013: KT and SK Telecom of South Korea
2014: Dr Paul Jacobs, CEO & Chairman of Qualcomm Inc.
2015: Jamaludin Ibrahim, President & Group CEO, Axiata Group
2016: Aircel, Bharti Airtel, Idea Cellular, Tata Teleservices, Telenor and Vodafone – India