Category 8: Outstanding Achievement Award

Category 8: Outstanding Achievement Award

About this category:

The GSMA Chairman’s Award is the annual recognition of outstanding achievement in the mobile industry. The Chairman’s Award honours personal or company contributions as well as achievements that span entire organisations, over a sustained period of time. They all share one thing in common – to have served the global industry and engendered a continuing vitality in the evolution of the mobile industry.

This discretionary award is a personal honour for the recipient who is chosen by the GSMA’s Chairman alone.

Past Winners include:

2002: NTTDoCoMo, Inc.
2003: Sir Christopher Gent, Vodafone Group
2004: Zhang LiGui, China Mobile
2005: The Brazilian Ministry of Communications
2006: Jorma Ollila, Nokia Corporation
2007: Mohamed Ibrahim, Chairman, Celtel
2008: Sunil Bharti Mittal, Founder, Chairman and Group CEO of Bharti Enterprises
2009: Jim Balsille & Mike Lazaridis, Co-CEOs of Research in Motion (RIM)
2010: Carl-Henric Svanberg, Former CEO of Ericsson
2011: Wang Jianzhou, Executive Chairman, China Mobile
2013: KT and SK Telecom of South Korea

The 2014 GSMA Chairman’s Award Winner will be announced at Mobile World Congress in Barcelona on Monday 24th February 2014.

Bookmark and Share